top of page
Portsonachan Hotel Awards and Reviews

Awards and Reviews

Portsonachan Hotel Awards
Portsonachan Hotel We're Good to Go Award

Guest Reviews

"Fantastic weekend to celebrate our 5th anniversary Tamaskan dog show. Stayed in Dochart apartment with my husband, daughter and 2 wolf dogs...plenty of room for all of us. Very comfy sitting room, dining room come 2nd bedroom with double room upstairs. Nice power shower and fully equipped kitchen (used for breakfast only). Staff in the hotel were very friendly and attentive and I have to give a mention to the Chef - the food was excellent! They all did exceptionally well considering the size of our group. Excellent spot for wild swimming. Will definitely be back."

Fearless778319, August 2023

"I stayed here with a friend as part of a motorbike trip around beautiful Scotland. The staff were amazing, so friendly, helpful and professional. The location is stunning, the hotel sits on the banks of Lough Awe. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was fantastic, dinner on both nights was first class and the breakfast had great options and again, really good quality. I would choose this hotel again and will look forward to another visit."

Andrew, August 2023

“Loved our stay at portsonachan hotel. Really friendly staff, loch side apartment was lovely. Huge bath was great after long walks. Our dog was well looked after to."

cookey2104, August 2023

“Great reception and a good laugh,
I've stayed in the hotel and an apartment before and being very happy. This time with 4 friends that have never been. And they were blown away with everything. The price,The room, the food, the service, the bar, the location. 5 chap's on motorbikes, very picky and very happy."

Duncan C, August 2023

"Had the pleasure of staying here with my wife, 4 daughters and 2 wolfdogs in a lochview apartment, For the 5th scottish tamaskan dog show, the location is fantastic, partment was clean, restaurant absolutely outstanding, and where to begin with the staff, in my opinion perfect blend of professionalism and banter, done really well being in proximity to 16(?) Wolfdogs on the site, barman in a greatkilt (not a blanket) is a legend, waiting staff always smiling, any issues quickly delt with, I would be more than happy to be back at portsonachan again, with the wolfpack or just my own family."

Craig M, August 2023

"I was in a room with a loch view, which was breathtaking at all times of day regardless of the weather. As always the staff were friendly and welcoming, on my late arrival they made sure I was able to order a meal and recommended places to visit on the next leg of my solo road trip. I’m looking forward to coming back."

Emma R, August 2023

“Although very remote and miles from anything, what a wonderful, peaceful place to stay. If you want a relaxing holiday with surreal scenery then this is the place in Scotland to be. We stayed in an apartment that was lovely and right by the loch with amazing views and was given a complimentary breakfast basket. We were welcomed by staff and given all information needed and offered to book us attractions that were in surrounding towns/villages.
The bar, lounge and restaurant were lovely. Pizzas are to die for and drinks choice was good. You can hire self drive boats (I found these a bit expensive) or take a tour of the lake (would recommend booking these early) as well as hiring fishing rods too.
Over all we had a wonderful time and will definitely be returning when we can."

Laura C, August 2023

"I loved my stay at the Portsonachan. The staff were fabulous, they couldn't have been more attentive, friendly and professional. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We had breakfast and dinner on the 2 days we stayed and it was first class. The location is stunning, set on the shore of Lough Awe. I couldn't fault it and would look forward to staying here again. Thanks everyone"

Andrew W, August 2023

“We have been made most welcome and have had an excellent stay. The food had been first vlass, the lakeside appartment has been very comfortable, well equipped and appointed. Nothing had been too much trouble for the staff. The waiting on staff did an excellent job. The surroundings are beautiful."

642Ritchie, August 2023

“We have stayed at Portsonachan several times and have always enjoyed our stay.
The staff are friendly and work tirelessly. Nothing is too much trouble. A special thanks to Liz, for her local knowledge suggesting places what we had never visited. The seafood restaurant she suggested had amazing food and the places she suggested where beautiful.
We had several meals at Portsonachan which were excellent, the portion sizes were generous. Empty plates all round.
A special thank you for a grateful family holiday, much appreciated!"

Richard H, August 2023

The Hotel is Faaaantastic! The food was to die for! I had Scallops every day for four days solid! The staff were amaaazing and sooo friendly and helpfull. Soooo dog friendly! Oh, and the fishing was out of this world and we will be returning Every Year!
Love Mark, Donna and Amber XxX"

Angry Pike, August 2023

"We had a wonderful stay at the Portsonachan Hotel. We stayed for four nights and had spectacularly warm weather. We spent our days exploring the area, going as far as Fort William and catching the Jacobite Steam train to Mallaig which was excellent. The hotel is quite out of the way but that didn't bother us the situation of the hotel is beautiful on the loch side. The hotel is quite tired although perfectly clean. Our room was fine and the food in the restaurant was delicious. The staff were very kind, chatty and knowledgeable. We would definitely stay again if we were going back to the area."

Leanne C, August 2023

"Had the loveliest stay in a Loch side appartment, it had everything that was needed for a self catering stay, the view was fabulous, we ate there every night on our 4 night stay and the food was amazing, special thanks to Daniel who looked after me while my husband walked Ben Nevis, I was on crutches and looking after the pooch, all in all a very enjoyable stay."

Kim M, June 2023

“The staff were great, very helpful and welcoming. The food was delicious. Lovely views. The location was stunning. A very relaxing and peaceful long weekend break. Very dog friendly. Great value. Lots to keep us busy in the area"

Romana, June 2023

“Brilliant honeymoon location
Stunning location, beautiful building with old charm. The views in all directions breathtaking. The staff so friendly, and couldn't do enough to make our stay special. Great vegan options. Watching the swifts dart about in front of our bedroom window, magical. Seeing sunrise and sunset from the same bedroom window fabulous!"

Discover30384158154, June 2023

"Another stay at this magical place we love it ! It is so peaceful and the Loch side cabins so work for us but more space and the peacefulness with the most amazing sunsets. Love the staff all super friendly we have now been for our 6 th visit and it ticks the boxes for us so much."

Jo, July 2023

"We stayed for an overnight with private boat trip which included a seafood platter and a glass of prosecco.
On arrival we were taken aback by the stunning views from the hotel entrance! Uninterrupted views across Loch Awe to the mountains in the distance. Breathtaking!
All members of staff were so helpful and friendly, it was a genuinely warm welcome.
Our room was beautiful with stunning views across the water & had everything we needed for our stay.
The food was exquisite.
Our Captain & guide for the boat trip was very knowledgeable about the area & served us a delicious seafood platter with locally sourced produce.
Our evening meal included Loch Fyne scallops and was prepared & presented to a very high standard.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for excellent service and beautiful scenery."

Marion P, June 2023

“A fabulous setting - we upgraded to a self catering apartment and it was well worth the additional expense. Scenery is stunning. The staff were superb and so helpful. Continental breakfasts were good, and we ate twice in the restaurant at night - baked seabass was lovely. Easy parking and a great location from which to explore. We were extremely lucky with the weather which added to the experience. Fabulous break!"

Jayne G, June 2023

"Amazing location by Loch Awe and close to lots of hillwalking (the reason for our trip) and beautiful scenery. After reading the reviews we expected the worst but had a great experience! I think a lot of people expect city standards in some of the more rural areas of Scotland. All the staff very, very friendly and helpful: early check in, tips/advice, going above & beyond. Especially the two Dunoon boys! We had a lodge so can’t speak to the hotel rooms but the bar, lounge, restaurant, beer garden/patio - all great. Good selection of beer/whisky. Hot tub at the lodge was the best I’ve ever been in. Plenty to do locally. Will definitely be back."

CraigBradley, July 2023

“Portsonachan hotel has the most friendly hard working helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant/breakfast room has wonderful views of Loch Awe. We started our holiday in hotel rooms with delicious 3 course meals included as a deal for 4 days at a very cheap price. After this we stayed in Ness Apartment which has self catering facilities, as there were 3 of us and it has 2 bedrooms. It is a beautiful apartment. We hired a car at Glasgow Airport and drove to the hotel and used the car to travel around the area each day. We went to Oban twice. Also went to Tobermory and Fort William. This is my third visit to this hotel and I will definitely return."

Josephine C, June 2023

“Such a beautiful peaceful setting for our 4 night break with the dogs. So pleased we could upgrade to the lochside lodge as we loved it!!!! The view and patio area were well worth the upgrade and the bedroom was a great size. Our dogs thoroughly enjoyed their stay and swims in Loch Awe. All staff were friendly and helpful. Great value for money - would definitely recommend!!!!! Thank you"

Fiona, June 2023

"Posting on behalf of my parents Rob & Barbara Withers. They had a super time. Staff, food and accommodation were great. Such a lovely atmosphere. Thanks for organising the birthday cake too, much appreciated. They are already looking at when to come back."

Rob and Barbara Withers, May 2023

"We stayed for a few nights for a friend's wedding at the end of April. We thoroughly enjoyed being at the hotel & found it to have bags of character. Very friendly & helpful staff. Special mention must be made of the barman (name escapes sorry) & front desk lady, Abbie. Room was warm, clean & nicely decorated. Food was good & the desserts were wonderful, especially the cranachan! A well stocked bar & excellent barman. We would love to return."

Sarah B, May 2023

“Situated on the shore of Loch Awe this is a lovely welcoming dog friendly hotel with great staff. We have just spent 4 nights in a loch side apartment with stunning views.

We were provided with a breakfast hamper on the first morning as we preferred to have breakfast in the apartment. Could not fault the generous contents. The food in the restaurant was superb especially the quality of the meat. I also felt the drinks were very reasonably priced. We had brilliant weather which is always a bonus and our dog, Lola, loved it as well. We have already recommended the hotel to friends."

Robin M, April 2023

"An idealic 4 night break and well looked after! As a party of 4 we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the hotel. The restaurant service and menu choice was excellent with very healthy portion size - check out the lamb curry!! It proved a perfect base for the activities we had planned in a location to die for."

Roam, May 2023

"We had a lovely time at the hotel. It was clean and warm and the staff were friendly. The views from the restaurant enhanced the dining experience. The silence by the Loch was awesome."

Gloria J, May 2023

“A little bit of heaven. It's a 'homely', welcoming place. Blissfully quiet, with country walks and good food. There is no need to say anything further, we returned having had an enjoyable time the first time and we would certainly return again."

Marianne S, April 2023

“We had a Lovely 2night stay in one of the loch side apartments which are very spacious with fantastic views over the loch.
We went for dinner in the hotel which was lovely and the staff were very welcoming
and to top it off the weather was fantastic!"

Vicky, April 2023

"Stayed here last week and it was a great break. Lodge was excellent and everything we needed lovely big bath a bonus. Slept like a log all I could hear was Loch Awe so relaxing. Views stunning and great location for trips out to Oban, Mull and Glencoe. My four legged Polar Bear was made very welcome lots of fusses from staff. All in all very happy value for money room and meals very good. I would recommend for a peaceful location that is accessible."

Lorraine B., May 2023

“This was my sixth visit to Portsonachan and my friend's fourth. We both said it feels like coming home. The hotel is comfortable and in a beautiful setting. The restaurant staff have increased in number since our last visit and were supervised expertly by Beatrice. Her welcome when we arrived was great and genuine. Sam on front desk was very helpful as usual. A good place to stay for touring around or just to chill and relax. Have already bought a voucher fof trip number 7 in july."

Beverley D, May 2023

“Had a fabulous relaxing stay in one of the self-catering apartments overlooking Loch Awe. The staff are all friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. There is a good choice of food in the restaurant. The views are stunning and it is an ideal place to relax and unwind. We will definitely be making a return visit."

Helen H, April 2023

"Absolutely fantastic! The staff were so accommodating & welcoming. The facilities were exceptionally clean, the room was just perfect! We had the most incredible weekend. Exactly what we needed. Stunning location! We’ve actually booked again for April before it’s fully booked.
Thank you so much for an incredible stay! Cannot wait to return in April."

Derek L, February 2023

"Spent two nights for the Burns Supper weekend. Nice greeting from reception and shown to our apartment which was huge and in pristine condition. The hotel itself has been tastefully refurbished with log fires and antiques and paintings. The Supper was very professionally done. Lovely meal and excellent entertainer. Look forward to going again."

Allan Weir, January 2023

“Had a fantastic time at Portsonachan for New Year. Lovely gala dinner on New Year’s Eve with music and dancing, then bagpipes and poems courtesy of John Hunt. We brought in the bells with fireworks, more bagpipes and dink of champagne/ whiskey. Wonderful service from all and nothing was any trouble, quick turnaround when we had a wee mishap with the toaster, special thanks to Daniel for bringing it over so quickly for us. We stayed in the Lochside apartments this year and they were well equipped with everything we needed and even had some lovely highland shampoos ect the the shower. The views were amazing and my dog had a brilliant time, thank you for being such a dog friendly/ loving hotel. Can’t wait to book again for next new year and will hopefully book a summer trip when it’s even more beautiful. Thanks gain the team for a fantastic stay.”

Cheryl, January 2023

"After a long drive we were delighted to find the hotel relaxing, friendly and layed back. The views over the Loch from the front of the hotel are amazing. The staff are very helpful and accommodating and the food is lovely at reasonable prices. Most of the guests we've spoken to love it here and are regular visitors. We will definitely be staying here again."

Rachael C, February 2023

"Had a a great stay at The Porsonachan hotel. Lovely apartment and very dog friendly. The staff were brilliant and very helpful especially B? The waitress, bartender from Romania and the young guy who served breakfast. The food was amazing! Will definitely be returning and highly recommended."

Jan B, January 2023

“The Loch side cabin was comfy and very clean , the views are outstanding and the staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble . Its the perfect place to have some rest and relaxation or explore the highlands.”

Lisa Wood, January 2023

“What a beautiful place in a beautiful part of Scotland,stayed there two nights and wish we stayed more,really friendly helpful and welcoming staff,excellent food room was clean and comfortable and the place to go to chill out after the stresses of life gets you down,one place we will definitely be visiting again and again well done to all who work there.”

Malcolm Keeton, December 2022